Home > Winds of Change > Dreams and Dream Interpretation > Suicide

The melting of the sea ice near Broughton Island.

On the shore of Ungava Bay south of Killiniq.

Suicide

Quotation:
George Agiaq Kappianaq,
You asked about suicide. Suicide is not new. I heard from my mother about people who strangled themselves. Johnny’s grandmother strangled herself. I told you about the man who shot himself. Attaqtaaq’s husband hung himself as well. I can’t tell you the details, but suicide is not new. People did commit suicide in the past. For example, some people were sick for a long time and just got tired of it. They would take their own lives. Nowadays we talk about how many suicides there are, but suicide is not new. (Page 172)
Presentation:
Given the sad importance of suicide in Inuit communities over the last few years, students want to know how important suicide was in the past. Ka&&ak has never heard of suicides before the arrival of qallunaat, but Pisuk and Agiaq know of a few cases. The latter even mentions that, although we are worried by the number of suicides today, there is nothing new about that phenomenon.

All three elders tell stories about various suicides meant to put an end to heartache, illness and shame. For the latter, Pisuk tells the story of Ujarasugjuk, confronted by an angakkuq about the rape of his daughter-in-law. After admitting it, he committed suicide later that night.

Students notice that Agiaq seems uncomfortable with the topic of suicide. We learn that one of his great-grandchildren has killed himself. He clearly does not understand the motivations behind such an act, and feels like it is something he cannot prevent. People who talk about killing themselves are less likely to actually do it, but there is nothing we can do to help those who do not talk about it.

Students try to tie suicide to dreams in which a dead person beckons the dreamer to follow them into the afterlife. None of the elders know of any such case and all three reject the connection. Ka&&ak points out that when parents die, they want their children to continue living; their tarniit simply would not visit them in their dreams to encourage them to kill themselves. Agiaq tells of a dream about his deceased wife, in which she did not want him to touch her, forbidding him to join her.

Accueil > Un vent de changement > Les rêves et leur interprétation > Suicide

Parc national d'assuituq. Environs de Broughton Isalnd.

Sur les rives de la baie d'Ungava, au sud de Killiniq.

Suicide

Citation :
George Agiaq Kappianaq,
Vous nous avez interrogés sur le suicide. Le suicide n’est rien de neuf. Ma mère me parlait de gens qui s’étaient étranglés. La grand-mère de Johnny s’est tuée ainsi. Je vous ai parlé de l’homme qui s’est fait sauter la cervelle. Et le mari d’Attaqtaaq s’était pendu. Je ne peux vous raconter tous les détails, mais le suicide n’est pas un phénomène récent. Les gens se suicidaient à l’époque. Par exemple, il y avait des gens malades qui ne voulaient plus souffrir et mettaient fin à leurs jours. Aujourd’hui, on s’émeut du nombre de suicides, mais ce n’est pas un nouveau phénomène.
Présentation :
Étant donné la triste importance qu’a acquis le suicide dans les communautés inuit au cours des dernières années, les étudiants veulent connaître l’importance que ce phénomène avait avant. Si Ka&&ak n’a jamais entendu parler de suicides avant l’arrivée des Blancs, Pisuk et Agiaq connaissent quelques cas. Ce dernier souligne d’ailleurs que, si on s’émeut du nombre de suicides aujourd’hui, le phénomène n’est pas nouveau.

Les trois aînés racontent divers cas de suicide ayant eu pour but de mettre fin au désespoir amoureux, à la maladie ou à la honte. Dans ce dernier cas, Pisuk raconte l’histoire d’Ujarasugjuk, confronté devant sa famille par un angakkuq au viol de sa bru. Après avoir admis l’affaire, l’homme se suicida dans la nuit.

Les étudiants remarquent qu’Agiaq semble mal à l’aise avec le sujet du suicide. On apprend que l’un de ses arrière-petits-enfants s’est suicidé. C’est un acte qui le bouleverse et contre lequel il se sent impuissant. Les gens qui parlent de se suicider sont moins enclins à passer à l’acte, mais il n’y a aucun moyen d’aider ceux qui n’en parlent pas.

Les étudiants essaient de rattacher le suicide au rêve dans lequel un défunt invite la personne à le suivre dans l’au-delà. Les trois anciens ne connaissent aucun cas de ce genre et rejettent ce lien possible. Ka&&ak souligne que les parents qui meurent souhaitent voir leurs enfants vivre longtemps; il serait insensé que leurs tarniit les visitent en rêve pour les inciter au suicide. Au contraire, Agiaq raconte avoir rêvé à sa femme après sa mort; celle-ci ne voulait pas qu’il la touche, lui interdisant du fait de venir la rejoindre.